VC Godalming & Haslemere

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The temporary forum for VC Godalming & Haslemere

Help For Heroes - Cycle to Nice

andy smillie

Help For Heroes - Cycle to Nice Empty Help For Heroes - Cycle to Nice

Post  andy smillie Thu Aug 20, 2009 7:40 am

Dear Sir/Madam,
    I am currently a serving firefighter with the Surrey Fire & Rescue Service. Previously, I served with the Parachute Regiment serving with both 1 Para and 2 Para. I am writing to you as I am organizing a 2,000 kilometer cycle ride to raise funds for Help for Heroes – an event that has been registered with the Charity directly and shall take place in June 2010.
    In order to raise the profile of our Help for Heroes event and to make it a success, I am contacting recognized individuals/ cycling enthusiasts and companies in the sphere of the cycling world to ask them to aid us in our challenge.
    The cycle ride will start in Surrey, go via parts of the 2007 Tour De France route through the stunning French Alps, and end in Nice – we shall cover approximately 200 kilometers per day for 10 days.
    The participants in this endurance cycle ride are all amateurs who simply want to demonstrate their support to our wounded British service men and women. Their bravery in the face of their situation is humbling, which is why we are passionate about this cause, and want to do our bit.
    I would like to ask you if you are able to join us for part, or even all, of our Tour? I appreciate this is a big request. However, if you are able to lend your support in any form I know it will help to boost our fundraising efforts.